World Sport betting - 2 World Sport betting - 2 World Sport betting - 2
World Sport betting - 3 World Sport betting - 3s World Sport betting - 3
Monday , 22 July 2019
Breaking News
Home » Sports » 2017 Billabong Junior Series Finale

2017 Billabong Junior Series Finale

The champions in the 20th annual Billabong Junior Series presented by All Aboard Travel will be crowned this weekend when the country’s best 18-and-under surfers take to the fabled waves of Seal Point in Cape St Francis to compete for prestige, rankings points and prize money.

Scheduled for Friday to Sunday, September 29 – 1 October, the fourth and final event in the 2017 series features WSL Junior Qualifying Series (JQS) 1,000 rated events for U18 men and women, alongside 3A rated Surfing South Africa SA Surf Tour events for U16 and U14 boys and girls and U12 boys.

Eli Beukes surfing in the Billabong Junior Series
Eli Beukes

Jake Elkington holds a substantial rankings lead in the U18 boys division after victories in the Port Elizabeth and Cape Town legs of the 2017 series. His younger brother Max Elkington currently fills the runner-up berth after finishing second in both events. Fellow Kommetjie surfer Ethan Fletcher is in third spot, just ahead of defending series champion Adin Masencamp and Joshe Faulkner who is fifth.

Sophie Bell looks set to defend her U18 girls’ series title successfully with Kayla Nogueira her closest challenger and Kirsty McGillivray is another 500 points further adrift in third place on the rankings.

Angelo Faulkner surfing in the Billabong Junior Series
Angelo Faulkner

The U16 boys title will go down to the wire with Dellin Hendricks just five points ahead of Eli Beukes and Luke Slijpen is 100 points adrift of the top pair. Kayla Nogueira holds an unassailable lead in the U16 girls after winning all three events to date.

Kyra Bennie has also completed a clean sweep of victories in the three U12 boys’ events while in the U14’s Daniel Emslie and Ceara Knight are the odds on favourites to collect their first series awards.

Billabong South African Junior Championships Presented By BOS Heads To JBay Early October

After the Billabong Junior Series has finished in Seal Point and the winners have been crowned, the best junior surfers in the country will move over to JBay for the 2017 Billabong SA Junior Championships presented by BOS.

Last year Nelson Mandela Bay clinched the Freedom Cup for the team accumulating the highest points over the five-day event, and will be keen on keeping the trophy in the province again this year. Cape Town were second, eThekweni in third and Buffalo City in fourth.

The event takes place from 4 – 8 October at the popular and consistent Lower Point in JBay. Historically the waves have always been good around this time of the year, allowing for top performances from the best junior surfers in the country.

Photos by Kody McGregor.

Check Also

Details for the 2019 #UltimateEarsWinterWhip Snowboard and Ski Festival

2019 Ultimate Ears Winter Whip Snowboard and Ski Festival

Afriski Mountain Resort in the Kingdom of Lesotho ready to host the 2019 #UltimateEarsWinterWhip Snowboard ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *