World Sport betting - 2 World Sport betting - 2 World Sport betting - 2
World Sport betting - 3 World Sport betting - 3s World Sport betting - 3
Tuesday , 17 September 2019
Breaking News
Home » Sports » Vic Bay Classic 2019 Wrap Up

Vic Bay Classic 2019 Wrap Up

Home-grown heroine Bianca Buitendag and Slade Prestwich won the inaugural Vic Bay Classic Women’s and Men’s QS 1000 titles at the final stop on the 2019 City Surf Series.
It was a beautiful finals day with fun 1 to 1.5 meter waves on offer from start to finish, providing the perfect canvas for high performance surfing.

Slade Prestwich controlled the Men’s Final with excellent wave selection and committed surfing. After securing an 8.75 on his opening ride he took off on a set wave at the very top of the point and completed three excellent maneuvers that earned a near perfect 9.90 and a heat total of 18.65, putting his opponents in a combination situation.
Slade Prestwich surfing in the 2019 Vic Bay ClassicSlade Prestwich

Chris Zaffis stayed busy and sneaked into 2nd place with a total of 14.20 while Beyrick de Vries and Adin Masencamp had to settle for 3rd and 4th places respectively.
Chris Zaffis surfing in the 2019 Vic Bay ClassicChris Zaffis

Local knowledge reigned supreme in the Women’s Final with Bianca Buitendag unleashing her powerful backhand attack to win in front of her home crowd. The former CT surfer picked off the best wave of the heat, going vertical with each carve and finishing with a strong hit to the lip before looking towards the judges who deservedly awarded her with a 9.65. A backup score of 7.25 gave her a total of 16.90 and she claimed victory ahead of international contenders Piper Harrison, Rachel Presti and Justine Dupont.
Bianca Buitendag surfing in the 2019 Vic Bay ClassicBianca Buitendag

The Junior Women were on fire and it was a close tussle between Piper Harrison and Zoë Steyn. Both surfers ended up with the same total of 13.50, but in the case of a draw, Harrison’s 8-point ride was the highest single wave score and she walked away with the win. Julia Nishimoto and Rachel Presti finished in 3rd and 4th places respectively.
Piper Harrison surfing in the 2019 Vic Bay ClassicPiper Harrison

The exciting surfing and high scores continued with the Junior Men’s final where Luke Slijpen earned his second Junior QS win of the year. Slijpen was trailing Luke Thompson who had opened his account with two solid scores. But as time ran out Slijpen dragged himself back into contention with a 7.50 and then sealed victory with an outstanding 9.65, which relegated Thompson to the runner-up spot. Karl Steen and Saxton Randall had to settle for the 3rd and 4th places respectively.
Luke Slijpen surfing in the 2019 Vic Bay ClassicLuke Slijpen

Vic Bay Classic 2019 Results

Men’s Final
1st Slade Prestwich 18.65
2nd Chris Zaffis 14.20
3rd Beyrick de Vries 13.40
4th Adin Masencamp 12.65

Women’s Final
1st Bianca Buitendag 16.90
2nd Piper Harrison 13.15
3rd Rachel Presti 12.35
4th Justine Dupont 10.50

Junior Men’s Final
1st Luke Slijpen 17.15
2nd Luke Thompson 16.10
3rd Karl Steen 14.40
4th Saxton Randall 9.25

Junior Women’s Final
1st Piper Harrison 13.50
2nd Zoe Steyn 13.50
3rd Julia Nishimoto 12.50
4th Rachel Presti 11.00

Photos by Ian Thurtell.

Check Also

Watch the podium winning runs from the 2019 Downhill MTB World Cup in Snowshoe

Video | 2019 Downhill MTB World Cup Snowshoe Podium Runs

The final stop of the 2019 UCI Downhill MTB World Cup took place in Snowshoe, West ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *