World Sport betting - 1 World Sport betting - 1 World Sport betting - 1
World Sport betting - 3 World Sport betting - 3s World Sport betting - 3
Thursday , 21 November 2019
Breaking News
Home » Sports » Motocross » 2016 SA Motocross Nationals Rover MX Race Report

2016 SA Motocross Nationals Rover MX Race Report

A dry and warm day met Round 1 of the Monster Energy TRP Distributors SA National Motocross Championship at Rover MX in Port Elizabeth at the weekend. Excitement built up as riders got to grips with the track during official practice. With crew and spectators watching closely, racing got underway.

2016 SA Motocross Nationals Rover MX Race Report
The MX1 class was filled with action. In Heat 1 David Goosen was out front with a massive lead until a mechanical saw him push his bike over the line in 12th place. Returning to Racing, Richard van der Westhuizen finished in a respectable 3rd place with Anthony Raynard taking 2nd and Neville Bradshaw in 1st.
In Heat 2, Goosen bounced back to take 1st place, Raynard again finished in 2nd place, Bradshaw took 3rd and Van der Westhuizen 4th. Current MX1 champion, Kerim Fitz-Gerald had problems in both moto’s finishing 6-9.
Overall it was Bradshaw who took the win for the day followed by Raynard in 2nd and Van der Westhuizen in 3rd.

Race Report from Round 1 of the 2016 Monster Energy TRP Distributors SA National Motocross Championship
Neville Bradshaw

The MX2 class also provided plenty of excitement with Kerim Fitz-Gerald taking 1st place in Heat 1 with Anthony Raynard in close pursuit in 2nd place. In Heat 2 the rolls were reversed which saw Raynard take the overall for the day and Fitz-Gerald settling for 2nd place. Tristan Purdon put on a great performance and finished 3-3 for 3rd overall. Neville Bradshaw and Ryan Angilley followed in 4th and 5th.

Anthony Raynard racing his way to victory in the MX2 class
Anthony Raynard

In the Ladies class it was Brittany Cuthbert who was streets ahead of the competition taking the overall. Zambia’s Leah Heygate took home 2nd and Toni Jardin took 3rd.

Brittany Cuthbert leading the Ladies motocross class
Brittany Cuthbert

The 50cc and High School classes were well attended, showing the sport is in good hands with so much junior development.
Neil van der Vyver took the top step in the 50cc class, Hayden Tulley the 65cc class, Christiaan Cilliers won the 85cc class and Cameron Durow took the overall in the Pro Mini class. Keegan Hickson Mahony went 1-2 for 1st overall in the 125 High School class.

Keegan Hickson Mahony winning the 125 Highschool class
Keegan Hickson Mahony

2016 SA Motocross Nationals Round 1 Rover MX Results

1st Neville Bradshaw
2nd Anthony Raynard
3rd Richard VD Westhuizen

1st Anthony Raynard
2nd Kerim Fitzgerald
3rd Tristan Purdon

High School.
1st Keegan Hickson Mahony
2nd Seth  van den Abeele
3rd Slade Smith

1st Ian Topliss
2nd Ryan Hunt
3rd Stuart Laing

1st Brittany Cuthbert
2nd Leah Heygate
3rd Toni Jardine

Pro Mini
1st Cameron Durow
2nd Justin  Sangster
3rd Camden McLellan

85cc Juniors
1st Christiaan Cilliers
2nd Ike Klaassen
3rd Jonathan Mlimi

65 cc
1st Hayden Tulley
2nd Daiyaan Manuel
3rd Tyler Tarantino

MX 50cc
1st Neil van der Vyver
2nd Seth Young
3rd Jordan Dewdney

Senior Support
1st Mason Buist
2nd Theo Halgreen
3rd Brandon Howden

Photos by Eric Palmer

Photo Gallery:

Check Also

USA's Ryan Villopoto was recently in South Africa and supporting the last round of the MX Nationals. We caught up with the sport's superstar to get his thoughts on our local scene, life after professional racing, and more.

What Would Ryan Villopoto Say?!

USA’s Ryan Villopoto, a former professional AMA Motocross and Supercross racer, was recently in South Africa ...


  1. Who is the terrible photographer that keeps taking pictures for these race reports, biggest shit stain dumpster photog. who did he suck off at monster to get this gig, I have seen better photos taken with an iPhone by spectators

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *