World Sport betting - 1 World Sport betting - 1 World Sport betting - 1
World Sport betting - 3 World Sport betting - 3s World Sport betting - 3
Wednesday , 17 July 2019
Breaking News
Home » Sports » Motocross » 2015 Monster Energy Motocross Nationals Durban Race Report

2015 Monster Energy Motocross Nationals Durban Race Report

Round 4 of the 2015 Monster Energy South African Motocross Nationals took place in the heart of Durban at the Springfield MX Park. Cold weather was a bit too much for the spectators but perfect for both the riders and the track, resulting in an action packed day of racing.

2015 Monster Energy Motocross Nationals Durban nationals
The 50cc class has produced some of the best racing this season with a different winner at each round. Wian Du Plooy was quickest in practice but it was Luke Grundy who cleaned up in both heats. Du plooy had to settle for 2nd overall while Willem Hough finished in 3rd.

Camden McLellan owned the 65cc class by taking the win in both heats with secons to spare. Jono Mlimi fought in both heat and got faster as the day went on but it was not enough and he has to settle for 2nd place. Ike Klaasen finished off the podium in 3rd.

Camdem McLellan came back in the 85cc class and took the overall for the first time this season. Dalton Fenter was fast but mistakes cost him and he finished in 2nd. Calvin Jean-Jacques finished in 3rd.
In the Pro Mini class Cameron Durow went 1 – 2 while Slade Smith went 2 -1 seeing them finish in 2nd and 1st respectivly for the day. Seth van den Abeele finished in 3rd.

Seth van den Abeele racing his way to a 3rd place finish
Seth van den Abeele

As always the 125cc class is always exciting to watch. Dirco van der Westhizen went down in turn 1 in the first heat and rode from dead last. Defying the odds, Van der Westhuizen caught the leading 2 of Charl van Eerden and Joshua Mlimi and managed to make the pass on Mlimi for 2nd. Van der Westhuized got the holeshot in Heat 2 and lead from there. A charging Van Eerden took the 2nd whil Mlimi finished in 3rd again. Overall for the day it was Van der Westhuizen in 1st, Van Eerden in 2nd and Mlimi in 3rd.

Motocross action from Dirco van der Westhizen at round 4 of the nationals
Dirco van der Westhizen

Ian Topliss dominated the MX3 class ahead of Geoff Den and Rod Bergstom. In the Ladies class it was Nanda Swiegers who took the win with Toni Jardine in 2nd and Bodene Scott in 3rd. The Support class was won by Cam Thompson with Jonothan Hubbard in 2nd and Mathew Ellis in 3rd.

Open support class at the Motocross Nationals
Heat 1 of the MX2 class saw Kerim Fitz-Gerald take the lead with Maddy Malan and Neville Bradshaw battling for 2nd. Malan clipped Bradshaw and went down. Anthony Raynard filled in the 3rd position. Fitz-Gerald held on for the win after a big battle with Bradshaw. In Heat 2 Malan scored the holeshot and chacked out. The race for 2nd was between Tristian Purdon and Fitz-Gerald but Purden couldn’t find a way passed. Bradshaw bent his gear lever and finished down the field. In the end it was Fitz-Gerald with the overall from Malan in 2nd and Bradshaw in 3rd.

Maddy Malan claiming 2nd in the MX2 class
Maddy Malan

The most competitive racing of the day came from the MX1 class which saw 1 second seperating the top 6 in practice. In Heat 1 Neville Bradshaw took the win from Kerim Fitz-Gerald. Brad Fenton had lead most of the race but finished in 3rd ahead of Sacha Naude. In Heat 2 it was Fitz-Gerald who claimed the win, the overall and the championship lead. Bradshaw finished runner up and took home 2nd overall. Jayden Ashwell finished in a career best 3rd place ahead of Naude. Naude finishe 3rd overall for the day.

Kerim Fitz-Gerald owning and taking the MX2 and MX1 victory at round 4 of the Motocross Nationals
Kerim Fitz-Gerald

The 2015 Monster Energy South African Motocross Nationals now heads to Johannesburg for Round 5 on the 25th July at Dirt Bronco.

Thanks to the sponsors: Monster EnergyFMFThorGaerneBridgestoneMotulDC ShoesPortable ShadeBell HelmetsRockwell WatchesPac RiteHooked Up MotorsportsMXSA and Husqvarna.

Photos by Eric Palmer

Photo Gallery:

Check Also

2019 SA Motocross Nationals round 4 Race Report from Dirt Bronco

2019 SA Motocross Nationals Dirt Bronco Race Report

The fourth round of the 2019 TRP Distributors South African National Motocross Championship thrilled fans at Dirt ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *