World Sport betting - 1 World Sport betting - 1 World Sport betting - 1
World Sport betting - 3 World Sport betting - 3s World Sport betting - 3
Tuesday , 17 September 2019
Breaking News
Home » Sports » Motocross » 2019 SA Motocross Nationals Rover Race Report

2019 SA Motocross Nationals Rover Race Report

Rover Raceway in Port Elizabeth played host to Round 1 of the 2019 TRP Distributors South African National Motocross Championship. The tiring sandy conditions and new longer race formats were thrown into the mix and tested the riders as the new season kicked off.

Race report from Round 1 of the 2019 TRP Distributors South African National Motocross Championship

Lloyd Vercueil posted the fastest qualifying time in the MX1 Class, and then continued his early morning pace into Heat 1 to win by 22 seconds. Maddy Malan, who on pushing to pass Vercueil during the heat, overshot a jump and ended up crashing. Malan remounted in time to hold on for 2nd place ahead of 3rd place finisher Royce Griffin. A hard charging Tristan Purdon and Kerim Fitz-Gerald made up the top 5 in Heat 1.
Lloyd Vercueil racing to victory in the MX1 categoryLloyd Vercueil

In Heat 2 it was all Maddy Malan as he set the pace and took the win to take the overall for the day. A slow puncture that eventually resulted in a collapsed back wheel saw Lloyd Vercueil cross the line in 5th, just enough to hold onto 2nd overall. Tristan Purdon and David Goosen, both returning from injury, put on a battle for 2nd and 3rd and finished in those positions respectively. Purdon rounded off the podium in 3rd.
Maddy Malan racing to a motocross victory in the MX1 classMaddy Malan

Cameron Durow, racing in the MX2 Class for the first time surprised everyone when he ran away with the win in Heat 1 and finished 2nd in Heat 2 to take the overall for the day. Anthony Raynard put in a great effort in Heat 1 to come from the back of the pack and finish behind Durow in 2nd – a 4th place in Heat 2 would see Raynard take the 2nd place for the day.
Cameron Durow racing to victory in the MX2 Class at Round 1 of the SA Motocross NationalsCameron Durow

Nick Adams suffered a few crashes in Heat 1 and finished 12th but a convincing win in Heat 2 proved that he’s a rider that will be in the championship hunt. Kerim Fitz-Gerald went 3 for 3 to take the final step of the overall podium.
Nick Adams racing to victory in the MX2 class at the motocross nationalsNick Adams

Cameron Durow raced back-to-back raced by also competing in the 125 High School Class, and also taking the overall here with a 2 – 1 finish, a brilliant achievement for the day. Camden McLellan took the win in Heat 1 and 2nd in Heat 2 for the 2nd overall. Dalton Venter rounded off the podium with his 3rd and 4th place finish’s.
Cameron Durow chaining victory in the 125 High School classCameron Durow

The MX3 Class missed injured champion Ian Topliss but never failed to deliver great racing with Stuart Laing taking the overall win ahead of Craig Kruger and Brett Bircher.
Stuart Laing racing at round 1 of the SA motocross nationalsStuart Laing

In the Ladies MX, 50cc, 65cc and 85cc JNR races it was double wins for Kayla Raaf, Ethan Williamson, Niel van der Vyver and Barend du Toit. Whilst in the 85 Pro Mini class Dylan Kirk took the win ahead of Nate McLellan.
Kayla Raaf racing at Rover Raceway motocross trackKayla Raaf

Dylan Kirk racing in the 85cc Pro Mini ClassDylan Kirk

Niel van der Vyver racing in the 65cc classNiel van der Vyver

Ethan Williamson leading the 50cc motocross class

The next round of the 2019 TRP Distributors South African National Motocross Championship heads to Zone 7 in Cape Town on 30th March.

2019 SA Motocross Nationals Rover Results

1st Maddy Malan
2nd Lloyd Vercueil
3rd Tristan Purdon
4th Royce Griffin
5th David Goosen

1st Cameron Durow
2nd Anthony Raynard
3rd Kerim Fitz-Gerald
4th Nick Adams
5th Joshua Mlimi

125 High School
1st Cameron Durow
2nd Camden McLellan
3rd Dalton Venter
4th Aviv Orland
5th Ethan Hoffman

1st Stuart Laing
2nd Craig Kruger
3rd Brett Bircher

Ladies MX
1st Kayla Raaff
2nd Leah Heygate
3rd Natasha Rugani

85cc Pro Mini
1st Dylan Kirk
2nd Nate McLellan
3rd Blake Young

85cc Junior
1st Barend du Toit
2nd Seth Young
3rd Seth Whittington

1st Neil van der Vyver
2nd Liam Botha
3rd Jordan van Wyk

1st Ethan Williamson
2nd Jake van Schoor
3rd Keenan Strauss

Photos by Ruben Louw Photography.

Photo Gallery:

Check Also

Watch the podium winning runs from the 2019 Downhill MTB World Cup in Snowshoe

Video | 2019 Downhill MTB World Cup Snowshoe Podium Runs

The final stop of the 2019 UCI Downhill MTB World Cup took place in Snowshoe, West ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *