World Sport betting - 1 World Sport betting - 1 World Sport betting - 1
World Sport betting - 3 World Sport betting - 3s World Sport betting - 3
Thursday , 5 December 2019
Breaking News
Home » Sports » Motocross » 2018 SA Motocross Nationals Zone 7 Race Report

2018 SA Motocross Nationals Zone 7 Race Report

The TRP Distributors SA Motocross National Championship headed to the Mother City for Round 5 of the 2018 season, at the Zone 7 MX track. It was a mixed bag of luck for some of the top riders in the continued hunt for the number one plate in South African Motocross.

Motocross action at it's best from Round 5 of the MX Nationals at Zone 7 in Cape Town

In heat 1 of MX1 it was a very determined ride from David Goosen that saw him choose a far outside starting gate which paid off as he holeshotted the first race and eventually went on to win it as well. Tristan Purdon fought off the hot favourite, Caleb Tennant for 2nd and 3rd respectively.
David Goosen racing his way to 2nd place at the Motocross Nationals id Cape TownDavid Goosen
Heat 2 saw the roles reversed slightly with Purdon having to initially fight his way to the front to beat off the contenders in Tennant and Goosen. Purdon took a 2-1 for the overall but Tennant’s solid 3-2 performance kept him in red number board status heading to the next round in Welkom at the Phakisa MX track.
Tristan Pardon winning the MX1 class at round 5 of the 2018 MX NationalsTristan Purdon

MX2 is arguably one of the most competitive categories in the series. Once again Caleb Tennant continued his winning ways in the first heat despite a crash
Maddy Malan racing in the MX Nationals in Cape TownMaddy Malan
Maddy Malan blew out one of the berms and went off track in heat 1 but hung on only just to beat a last lap onslaught by David Goosen. Caleb had promised his fans a double and that’s exactly what he delivered with Malan in closer attendance for 2nd and Goosen very close for 3rd. Caleb also maintains his points lead in MX2.
Caleb Tennant winning the MX2 class at Round 5 of the 2018 Motocross NationalsCaleb Tennant

In MX3 it was Dewald van der Berg that went 1-1 for the overall. Ian Topliss went 2-2 for 2nd while Dylan Donald and Brett Bircher shared the third step in both moto’s.
Dewald van der Berg taking the MX3 overall at the 2018 Cape Town MX NationalsDewald van der Berg

An awesome display of 125cc High School action took place through both heats of racing. A bit of international flair was in the mix by way of Holland’s Rob van de Veerdonk giving the front runners a bit of a run for their money. Dalton Venter eventually beat out the Dutch rider with a 1-2 for 1st. Justin Sangster had some work to do in heat 1 but the 3-1 gave him 2nd overall with Van de Veerdonk finishing in 3rd.
Dalton Venter winning the 125cc High School race at the MX NationalsDalton Venter

The Ladies were in full attendance with 14 riders in the gate. Kayla Raaff beat out a very hard battle with Leah Heygate in heat 1.
In heat 2 to the order was reversed and although Heygate took the win, Raaff ‘s second place was good enough to keep the red plate going into the next round. Natasha Rugani took 3rd overall.
Leah Heygate wins the Ladies division at Round 5 of the 2018 MX NationalsLeah Heygate

On his return from winning his European Championship it was going to be very hard for anyone to catch Camden Mc Clellan in the 85cc Pro Mini class. Jonathan Mlimi put down a hard charge by taking the holeshot but a 3-3 finish would leave him settling for 3rd. Mark-Anthony Filip took 2nd place overall.
Camden McClellan winning the 85cc Pro Mini class at Zone 7 in Cape Town Camden Mc Clellan

Championship points leader Emmanuel Bako had a big crash in the 1st heat of the 85cc Juniors seeing him sidelined, and that left the door open for Troy Muraour to win twice off Luke Grundy and Wesley McGavin.
Troy Muraour wind the 65cc class at the Motocross Nationals in Cape TownTroy Muraour

Staying true to form in the 65cc class, Lucca Mynhardt doubled on the day and is proving to be a hard kid to beat. Younger brother, Andrea Mynhardt took the double in the 50cc class.

2018 SA Motocross Nationals Zone 7 Results

1st Tristan Purdon
2nd David Goosen
3rd Caleb Tennant

1st Caleb Tennant
2nd Maddy Malan
3rd David Goosen

1st Dewald van der Berg
2nd Ian Topliss
3rd Brett Bircher

1st Leah Heygate
2nd Kayla Raaff
3rd Natasha Rugani

125cc High School
1st Dalton Venter
2nd Justin Sangster
3rd Rob van de Veerdonk

85cc Pro Mini
1st Camden Mc Lellan
2nd Mark-Anthony Filip
3rd Jonathan Mlimi

85cc Juniors
1st Troy Muraour
2nd Luke John Grundy
3rd Wesley McGavin

1st Lucca Mynhardt
2nd Neil van der Vyvyer
3rd Wyatt McGregor

1st Andrea Mynhardt
2nd Chase Bekker
3rd Nicol Smit

Photos by Eric Palmer.

Photo Gallery:

Check Also

2019 has been a momentous year for Pyga Mountainbikes as it has seen the realisation of a dream to bring manufacturing back home to Pietermaritzburg, South Africa - Bringing It Home.

Pyga Mountainbikes – Bringing It Home

2019 has been a momentous year for Pyga Mountainbikes as it has seen the realisation ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *