World Sport betting - 1 World Sport betting - 1 World Sport betting - 1
World Sport betting - 3 World Sport betting - 3s World Sport betting - 3
Tuesday , 17 September 2019
Breaking News
Home » Sports » Motocross » 2018 SA Motocross Nationals Dirt Bronco Race Report

2018 SA Motocross Nationals Dirt Bronco Race Report

Final stop of the 2018 TRP Distributors SA Motocross National Championship took place at Dirt Bronco in Gauteng over the weekend. The country’s top riders descended on the venue to battle it out for valuable season points in their chase for the Championships, resulting in some of the most exciting racing of the year.

Race report from the final round of the 2018 TRP Distributors SA Motocross National Championship

All eyes were on Caleb Tennant back from the USA after his participation in the MX of Nations for team South Africa. The thick morning mud of Dirt Bronco did little to deter Tennant in MX2 practice as he set the fastest time. It was Anthony Raynard however that was out of the gates like a bullet and claimed the MX2 Heat 1 holeshot. Tennant’s team mate, Maddy Malan went down in the second turn and had to fight back from the back of the pack, which he did quickly, and worked his way back up to 4th. The main battle was between Tennant, Raynard and a hard charging David Goosen but Tristan Purdon, who was waiting to make his move, did so and made quick work of the leaders to get to the front and hold it to the finish. The move left Tennant in 3rd place and was enough to force the Championship seeing Tennant claim the 2018 MX2 Championship.
Tristan Purdon racing his way to victory at the final round of the MX NationalsTristan Purdon
Heat 2 now saw both Caleb Tennant and David Goosen sit out as they rested for the pending battle for the MX1 Championship. This time it was a hard charging Maddy Malan that took the win with Tristan Purdon in 2nd and Joshua Mlimi in 3rd. Purdon took the overall with a 1-2, closely followed by Malan in 2nd with 4-1 and a 2-4 performance by Raynard gave him 3rd for the day.
Maddy Malan racing in the final round of the Motocross NationalsMaddy Malan

Caleb Tennant winning both the MX1 and MX2 national titlesCaleb Tennant

In the MX1 class it was David Goosen that set the fastest lap in practice with Caleb Tennant only 1 second off the pace. Heat 1 saw Goosen get the holeshot, pull a large lead to try and out run any competition. Tennant hung on until once again Tristan Purdon made a mid race charge to pass the two leaders, claiming his second heat win of the day. Goosen took 2nd and Tennant 3rd but the Championship title decision would go down to the heat 2 race.
David Goosen racing in the Motocross Nationals at Dirt BroncoDavid Goosen
Heat 2, the race that everyone was waiting for. Whilst all eyes were on the two Championship contenders, it was Tristan Purdon and Jayden Ashwell that were thrown in the mix. Ashwell put in a brilliant ride and took the win with Purdon in 2nd and David Goosen in 3rd. Tennant just needed a solid finish to claim the MX1 title and he did just that with a 4th place finish to cement his second SA Championship for the day.
Purdon again took the overall with a 1-2 finish. Goosen took 2nd with a 2-3 and Ashwell claimed 3rd with a 7-1.
Tristan Purdon winning the MX1 class at the MX Nationals Tristan Purdon

Caleb Tennant celebrating victory in the MX2 motocross championshipCaleb Tennant

In the other classes, it was Jack Pullen who took the win for the day in 50cc. The Championship was taken by 4th place finisher Andrea Mynhardt.

In 65cc, the day’s win belonged Barend Du Toit but Lucca Mynhardt claimed the 2018 Championship.

In the 85cc class the win went to Emmanuel Bako and the Championship red plate holder for the season Troy Muraour walked away with his well earned Championship.

In Pro Mini it was Blake Young that had the day in the bag and Jonathan Mlimi took the Championship after a great performance the whole season.

In the High School class, Cameron Durow took the win but Justin Sangster put in another consistent performance and his 4th for the day clinched him his Championship.

With only a handful of points separating the MX3 Championship contenders it was going to be a nail biter, but was the Veteran and multi SA Champion Ian Topliss who walked away with a perfect day and another SA Championship Title.
Ian Topliss winning the 2018 MX3 motocross championshipIan Topliss

In the Ladies class history was made as Kayla Raaff at the age of 15 became the youngest lady ever to win an SA Championship. She took both wins on the day as well.
Kayla Raaff winning the 2018 Ladies motocross championship Kayla Raaff

2018 SA Motocross Nationals Dirt Bronco Results

1st Tristan Purdon
2nd David Goosen
3rd Jayden Ashwell
2018 Champion – Caleb Tennant

1st Tristan Purdon
2nd Maddy Malan
3rd Anthony Raynard
2018 Champion – Caleb Tennant

1st Ian Topliss
2nd Dewald van der Berg
3rd Brett Bircher
2018 Champion -Ian Topliss

1st Kayla Raaff
2nd Megan Jonker
3rd Yanke Pieterse
2018 Champion -Kayla Raaff

High School
1st Cameron Durow
2nd Dalton Venter
3rd Camden Mc Lellan
2018 Champion – Justin Sangster

Pro Mini
1st Blake Young
2nd Dylan Kirk
3rd Jonathan Mlimi
2018 Champion – Jonathan Mlimi

85cc Juniors
1st Emmanuel Bako
2nd Wesley McGavin
3rd Luke Grundy
2018 Champion -Troy Muraour

1st Barend Du Toit
2nd Emmanuel Bako
3rd Lucca Mynhardt
2018 Champion -Lucca Mynhardt

1st Jack Pullen
2nd Aiden Henley
3rd Louis Mostert
2018 Champion -Andrea Mynhardt

Photos by Eric Palmer.

Photo Gallery:

Check Also

Watch the podium winning runs from the 2019 Downhill MTB World Cup in Snowshoe

Video | 2019 Downhill MTB World Cup Snowshoe Podium Runs

The final stop of the 2019 UCI Downhill MTB World Cup took place in Snowshoe, West ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *