World Sport betting - 1 World Sport betting - 1 World Sport betting - 1
World Sport betting - 3 World Sport betting - 3s World Sport betting - 3
Wednesday , 12 December 2018
Breaking News
Home » Sports » Mountainbiking » Video | 2018 Downhill MTB World Cup Fort William Podium Runs

Video | 2018 Downhill MTB World Cup Fort William Podium Runs

Stop 2 of the 2018 UCI Downhill MTB World Cup took place at the infamous Fort William course in Scotland. The dry and fast course resulted in nail-biting race runs and super close finishing times, with the top 10 Elite Men finishing within three seconds of each other.

A new World Cup winner was crowned by way of Amaury Pierron and his near perfect run of 4:34.452. Loris Vergier and Troy Brosnan followed in 2nd and 3rd respectively, just a few split seconds off the winning run with times of 4:34.722 and 4:34.763 – insanely close. Reece Wilson and Loic Bruni rounded off the top five. Series points leader, Aaron Gwin, crashed in his race run and finished in 20th position. Luca Shaw who had qualified in 1st place was the last man down the mountain, a puncture early in his run ended his hopes of taking his first World Cup win finishing in 59th place. South Africa’s Greg Minnaar was unfortunately out of action due to a broken arm he sustained in training the week before (speedy recovery Greg).

In the Women’s division it was Tahnee Seagrave that came out on top with her time of 5:10.960. Despite a crash in her run, Myriam Nicole managed to salvage 2nd place with a time of 5:19.211 and still leads the points standings. Rachel Atherton put down a great performance after her chain broke out the gate to finish in 3rd with a time of 5:20.016.

Watch the podium winning runs followed by the Elite Men’s and Women’s results…

Men’s Results:
1st Amaury Pierron 4:34.452
2nd Loris Vergier 4:34.722
3rd Troy Brosnan 4:34.763
4th Reece Wilson 4:35.775
5th Loic Bruni 4:37.039
6th Danny Hart – 4:37.209
7th Matt Walker – 4:37.612
8th Marcelo Gutierrez Villegas – 4:37.698
9th Sam Blenkinsop – 4:37.720
10th Martin Maes – 4:37.774
Amaury Pierron wins his first Downhill MTB world cup at the 2018 Fort William race

Women’s Results:
1st Tahnee Seagrave – 5:10.960
2nd Myriam Nicole – 5:19.211
3rd Rachel Atherton – 5:20.016
4th Marine Cabirou – 5:21.782
5th Tracey Hannah – 5:22.744
Tahnee Seagrave wins the Women's Downhill MTB world cup in Fort William Scotland

Photos by Nathan Hughes / Red Bull Content Pool.

Check Also

Race report from Gymkhana GRiD 2018

Gymkhana GRiD 2018 – The Ultimate Driver Showdown

Carnival City in Johannesburg again played host to Gymkhana GRiD, and what featured was nothing ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *