Saturday , 21 January 2017
Acer VNitro
Breaking News
Home » Sports » Motorsports » Supadrift Series 08 Review

Supadrift Series 08 Review

The final and eighth round of the 2013 Auto Trader Supadrift Series took place at the Durban Motor Show over the past weekend, 8th – 10th November, where 19 year old Jason Webb was crowned the first ever national Drifting champion. Jason scored top points during the season to secure the championship and have his name written down in the history books.

Jason Webb won the 2013 national drifting series
The 2013 season consisted of 8 stops around the country visiting Joburg, Port Shepstone, Mahikeng, Kimberley and Durban, and saw the sport grow in popularity.

The final round ran over 3 days to a crowd of over 15 000 enthusiast and was full of action. The slippery track saw 5 accidents take place as drivers pushed the limits. Jason Webb lost his power steering during the weekend and still managed to pull off a 3rd place, luckily his points lead was way ahead of the rest and he secured the title. The final showdown of the weekend saw Wade van Zummerun take top points followed by Jim McFarlane.

The final round of the SUpadrift Series took place in Durban
Wade van Zummeren finished in 2nd place in the championship with Mike Radloff in 3rd and Shane Gutzeit in 4th. Sean February scored the rookie of the year award.

The 2014 Supadrift Series will kick off in Cape Town at the Wings and Wheels event on the 7th and 8th December. For more details, visit the Supadrift Series website.

Drifting action at its best at the Supadrift Series
Photos by Peter de Groot

Check Also

#Doonies3 is live and brings with it a whole lot of mayhem! The Doonies journeyed back to the Glamis Sand Dunes to wreak havoc and go bigger then ever:

Monster Energy #Doonies3

#Doonies3 is live and brings with it a whole lot of mayhem that you have ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *