World Sport betting mma World Sport betting mma World Sport betting mma
Far cry 5 games-only Far cry 5 games-only Far Cry 5 games only
Tuesday , 22 May 2018
Breaking News
Home » Sports » Snowboarding » Quiksnow 2013 Review

Quiksnow 2013 Review

Quiksnow 2013 will go down in the history books as one of the most epic SA Snowboarding championships to hit the slopes of Afriski in the Maluti mountains of Lesotho. This last ever Quiksnow instalment completes a full decade of Quiksnow events that took place and grew snow sports to newer and higher levels thanks to Quiksilver.

Quiksnow Snowboarding
Dropping into the Kapoko Slopestyle Park

2013 saw a host of new aspects join this prime event with performances by Jack Parow on the Thursday night and The City Bowl Mizers at the closing party on the Saturday night rocking the Gondola Cafe patrons till the early hours. An awesomely designed Kapoko Slopestyle Park which included more hits, lines, rails and technicality than ever before. And the newly added Nixon “Winner Takes All” prize of an R11000 watch for the rider that impressed the most with the biggest trick landed over the weekend.

On Friday morning the qualifying runs for each division got underway in perfect bluebird conditions. The Snowboarders and Skiers had to make sure to lay down perfect runs in the 2 runs each format to make sure they qualified for the Saturday finals. All the big names qualified and some standout runs came through from Andrew le Roux and Paulo Rocha in the Men’s Pro division. Mawa Jekot took the lead in the Women’s Open division with Carmen van Heerden and Vanessa Jackson hot on her heels. Dean van Greunen had a killer qualifying run to take the lead ahead of American, Aldo Hall and last year’s winner, Luke Dutton in the Junior Boys division. In the biggest division of the competition, the Men’s Amatuer, it was Jason Lammers who took the lead over a very impressive and improved Kuba Granicki. 8 year old Erin Nel impressed the judges with her smooth runs in the big and technical park to take second behind the also impressive 16 year old Abi O’Donnel in the Junior Women’s division.

Quiksnow Snowboarding
Dean van Gruenen

On Saturday, competitors were again greeted with bluebird conditions but with a bit of wind to contend with during the finals. Each rider would have 2 runs to put it all on the line and impress the judges with one run being dropped and the highest scoring run being the one that counted.

The Junior Girls were up first with Erin Nel putting on a stellar performance on the commanding Kapoko Park but it wasn’t enough to beat Abi O’Donnel, who’s riding was on form all weekend long.

Quiksnow Snowboarding
Abi O’Donnel

In the Women’s Open Carmen van Heerden and Sarah Angliss upped their game and rode hard, hitting all the rails as well as the big kickers while throwing in some grabs but it was just not enough to beat the defending champion Mawa Jeckot who put on a smooth and clinical performance and showed her skills yet again.

Quiksnow Snowboarding
Mawa Jekot

The Amateur Men division had everyone on the edge of their seats waiting to see who would come out tops. 1st place qualifier, Jasom Lammers was unfortunately out as he injured his ankle practicing after qualifying on Friday. 2nd place qualifier, Kuba Granicki couldn’t stick the smooth runs like he had the day before and only scored enough points for 4th overall. Dean Stephenson stepped it up in the finals and put together some big runs with perfect rails and huge grabs over the kickers, taking the overall ahead of Nicholas Brodie and Dean Cowley.

Quiksnow Snowboarding
Dean Stephenson

The Junior Boys where on form and 10 year old Ethan Terblanche had so much style in his runs it was enough to put him into 4th overall. Dean van Gruenen, who had just returned to competition due to an injury, linked together some great runs with steezy grabs off the Burton barrel feature, big Backflips off the first kicker and 540’s off the last kicker putting him into 3rd overall. American, Aldo Hall showed his form with smooth and stylish runs putting him into 2nd place while Luke Dutton dominated with runs that saw minimum mistakes with big 720’s over the last kicker putting him into 1st place overall.

Quiksnow Snowboarding
Luke Dutton

The big one of the day was the Pro Men division and with last year’s winner, Marcin Jekot, out of the competition, the door was open for a new champion. Although Andrew le Roux looked to be the hot favourite after qualifying 1st, he went down in both runs dropping his score and putting him into 9th overall.  Aldo Hall’s run from the Junior Boys division secured him the 3rd overall. Rueben Storbeck put together one of the best runs we’ve ever seen him do for 2nd place overall but it was Luke Dutton’s dominating runs that claimed him the 2013 victory.

Quiksnow Snowboarding
Rueben Storbeck

Some of the biggest tricks we had seen all weekend came from the Freestyle Skiing division, with Backflips, Switch Backflips, Corks and more. 14 year old American, Alex Hall schooled the rest of the feild to take the overall. Bradley Stephenson landed the first ever 1080 in competition in South Africa to claim 2nd as well as the Nixon “Winner Takes All” watch. Linze Veenstra followed in 3rd.

Quiksnow Snowboarding
Alex Hall

The finals were action packed with all competitors putting everything they had on the line which made the final Quiksnow absolute bliss. A big shout out goes to all involved for making such an epic event possible; Peter Pyper and Ollie Schwankhart from Snowsports South Africa, without them this event would not be possible, Rueben Storbeck and his team for designing and building the awesome Kapoko Park, Red Bull, Skullcandy, Nixon and last but not least Quiksilver. Quiksilver and the Quiksnow SA Snowboarding Champs will definitely be missed, thank you for a decade of pure awesome!


Junior Girls

1st – Abi O’Donnel
2nd – Erin Nel

Quiksnow Snowboarding
Junior Girls Podium

Women’s Open

1st – Mawa Jekot
2nd – Carmen van Heerden
3rd – Sarah Angliss
4th – Zoe Goodbrand
5th – Laura Bauer
6th – Vanessa Jackson
7th – Ashleigh Gascoigne
8th – Shelly Hufner

Quiksnow Snowboarding
Women’s Open Podium

Amateur Men

1st – Dean Stephenson
2nd – Nicholas Brodie
3rd – Dean Cowley
4th – Kuba Granicki
5th – Richard Pearce
6th – Alessio Lacovig
7th – Michael Rassmann
8th – Damian van Zyl
9th – David Hofmeyr
10th – Brecht Hufner

Quiksnow Snowboarding
Amateur Men Podium

Junior Boys

1st – Luke Dutton
2nd – Aldo Hall
3rd – Dean van Greunen
4th – Ethan Terblanche
5th – Ruan Pansergrouw

Quiksnow Snowboarding
Junior Boys podium

Pro Men

1st – Luke Dutton
2nd – Rueben Storbeck
3rd – Aldo Hall
4th – Dale Andrews
5th – Vaughan Blom
6th – Paulo Rocha
7th – Dean van Gruenen
8th – Niek van der Horst
9th – Andrew le Roux
10th – Neil Freemantle
11th – Ethan Terblanche
12th – Ruan Pansergrouw
13th – Wynand Weyers

Quiksnow Snowboarding
Pro Men’s Podium

Freestyle Skiing

1st – Alex Hall
2nd – Bradley Stephenson
3rd – Linze Veenstra
4th – Harry Wilson
5th – Tomas Grega
6th – Jacques Pansergrouw
7th – Cilliers Marais

Quiksnow Snowboarding
Freestyle Skiing Podium

Photo Gallery:

Check Also

Details for Round 3 of the 2018 TRP Distributors SA Motocross National Championship

2018 SA Motocross Nationals Round 3 BORC

The 2018 TRP Distributors SA Motocross National Championship heads into Round 3 of the series this weekend, ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *