Injustice Injustice Injustice
BT Games BT Games BT Games
Saturday , 22 July 2017
Breaking News
Home » Sports » Motorsports » 2017 SupaDrift Series 01 Race Report

2017 SupaDrift Series 01 Race Report

The official kick off of the 2017 Drifting season took place in Kimberley at the Monstermob Raceway for Round 1 of the SupaDrift Series.


Drivers found the track surface to be seriously abrasive as they went through tyres like a kid in a candy store during Friday’s practice. The track layout had drivers pushing an entry speed of 120km/h, kicking the clutch and power sliding into a long left had corner; one of the longest on the Series in 2017. The rest of the track was a little slower but the layout in turn made for massive smoke areas.

Race report from Round 1 of the 2017 SupaDrift Series

Race day started out with a long morning of practice before heading into qualifying. One by one the drivers pitted their drift machines against the harsh surface to pull out their best runs. In the Top 16 things started to get interesting and the cooling surface of this track was not ideal for drifting. When battling Chris Long, Juan Stemmet found himself in all kinds of trouble at the initiation, found way too much grip and swung himself into the tyre wall at about 110km/h, writing his Nissan 200sx off. Chris Landsberg found himself in the same situation as he went up against JP van der Spuy, luckily not as bad and the car was saved.

Drifting at its best at round 1 of the Supadrift Series

This however would see the Top 8 drivers call a driver meeting to make a decision on whether or not to carry on the event or not. A consensus was mad to call the event, meaning that all eight drivers would finish off with an equal 8th position and score a 8th position points going into round two.

Round 1 of the 2017 Supadrift Series took place at Monstermob in Kimberley

The Top 8 drivers were; Chris Long, Paolo Gouevia, Shane Green, Shane Gutzeit, Otto Graven, JP van der Spuy, Daniel Blaser and Jim McFarlane.

Photos by Supafly Design & Media

Photo Gallery:

Check Also

Round 5 of the motocross nationals heads to Thunder Valley

2017 SA Motocross Nationals Round 5 Thunder Valley

Round 5 of the 2017 Monster Energy TRP Distributors SA National Motocross Championship returns to Thunder ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *